ISTE News RSS Feed

International Society for Technology in Education Announces 2012 Outstanding Leader/Teacher Award Recipients

by User Not Found | Jun 11, 2012

WASHINGTON, D.C. — The International Society for Technology in Education (ISTE®) has named Alice Owen, the division director of technology at Irving Independent School District in Irving, Texas, and Matt Cauthron, a digital arts instructor at Palm Springs Unified School District in Cathedral City, Calif., 2012 Outstanding Leader and 2012 Outstanding Teacher, respectively.

These awards recognize and honor individuals who have demonstrated outstanding achievement and leadership in implementing technology to improve education. Candidates for the awards are nominated by ISTE affiliates, a network of nearly 80 professional associations representing more than 100,000 educators worldwide. Nominations are reviewed by an eight-person team of education and technology professionals from around the world.

Owen was nominated by Texas Computer Education Association (TCEA) for her outstanding leadership skills, her ability to pilot implementation of technology at a district level, and her contributions as a thought leader on education technology at both state and national levels. She is credited with successfully implementing the one-to-one laptop program at Irving Independent School District, ensuring that high school students in the district have 24/7 access to powerful learning tools. Additionally, she is enabling other districts to follow in similar paths with the National One-to-One Symposium.

Cahuilla CUE (Computer Using Educators) nominated Cauthron for his ability to engage students and encourage creativity by providing them with a rich learning environment. He is also recognized for his achievements in helping Apple develop its “challenge-based learning model,” which he has successfully implemented in all of his classes. Cauthron designed Digital Arts Education, an online social collaborative and e-learning environment, that is the digital hub of his classroom. He is also an Apple Distinguished Educator, Adobe Education Leader, and serves as a dedicated leader and active member of various digital arts and educational technology professional communities.

ISTE will present Owen and Cauthron with their awards at its annual conference and exposition, ISTE 2012, in San Diego, June 24-27. They will each receive $1,000 toward ISTE 2012 travel and free conference registration as well as commemorative plaques and complimentary ISTE memberships.

About ISTE
The International Society for Technology in Education (ISTE®) is the premier membership association for
educators and education leaders engaged in advancing excellence in learning and teaching through the innovative and effective use of technology in PK–12 and teacher education. Home to ISTE’s annual conference and exposition, the ISTE leadership conference and the widely adopted NETS, ISTE represents more than 100,000 professionals worldwide.

Deborah Mersino
International Society for Technology in Education
Phone: (541) 349-7575


Leave a comment