Making IT Happen Award

The Making IT Happen award honors outstanding educators and leaders who demonstrate extraordinary commitment, leadership, courage and persistence in improving digital learning opportunities for students. Since its inception in 1995 more than 500 educators from around the world have received the award.

The spirit of the Making IT Happen award supports our vision of a world in which all learners thrive, achieve and contribute.

Award recipients are educators who:

  • Apply available technology now.
  • Move forward and don't look back.
  • See students as real people.
  • Teach through relationships, inspiring, encouraging and nurturing.
  • Recognize that further change is necessary, but understand that it is a process.
  • Realize that teacher empowerment is the key element to technology integration.
  • Expect success.
  • Motivate through awareness and access to information.


ISTE and its affiliates may present Making IT Happen awards at their annual conferences. The awarding organization chooses its winner(s) and ISTE supplies the award package, including an embroidered Making IT Happen jacket, a certificate, a one-year individual ISTE membership and promotional materials.

Request an award package.

For additional information or questions about this outstanding program, please contact us.


MIH 2016 group arms
Making IT Happen Award winners at the
ISTE 2016 Awards Celebration Luncheon.

2016 Making IT Happen Award Winners Presented by ISTE

Dr. Ali Al-Karni

Cathy Cavanaugh (r), with ISTE Chair Kecia Ray.

Randy Hansen

Jamie Kasper

Shannon McClintock Miller

Kim McMonagle

Andrew Wheelock

Current Making IT Happen Award Winners

View the entire archive of winners

Josh Allen
Darin Anderson
Andy Arnold
Susan Arrance
Shantell Barbour
Sheila Bowman
Karla Burkholder
Jon Castelhano
Terence Cavanaugh
Charlene Chausis
Becca Curtis
Shannon Davenport
Donna Dennis
Diane Doersch
Bill Ennis
Terri Fay
Tressie Fowler
Dan French
Rick Gaisford
Gary Grant
Jay Gross
Karen Harris
Brett Hill
John Ittelson
Klaudia Janek
Nancy Kevern
Kylie Kissel
Traci Kohler
Philip Lacey
Tammy Lind
Angelique Littlejohn
Brian Metcalfe
Jennifer Morgan
Mia Morrison
Rose Muller
Barbara Nemko
Kathie O'Brien
Michelle Okal
Laurel Oshiro
Bridget Pastenkos
Nancy Pratt
Peter Reilly
Susan Rizzo
Tracy Schoene
Brian Seymour
Josh Stock
Tracye Stormer
Molly Swank
Jeff Sypersma
Candace Threadgill
John Warf
Lance Wilhelm
Nick Williams
Luke Wittum
Jason Yaremchuk