Join ISTE or renew your memberhsip
Stay current on all of ISTE events.

SIGGS Webinar: Assessment of Learning with Badges

This webinar will present ideas and examples of assessing deeper learning in open online learning communities as well as game and simulation-based learning experiences based on eight essential practices. The practices were surfaced by a writing team developing a theoretical foundation for badges in a project linked to the Open Badge Infrastructure. The session will define deeper learning and outline a case for elevating formative, performance-based methods in technology-enhanced assessments. A technical discussion of big data analysis of game and simulation click tracks will include introduction to tools and methods used to mine for complex patterns where time, virtual space, and digital affordances combine to complicate the process of inferring what users know and can do based on their actions in digital spaces.

When: November 30, 2012 9am PT / 10am MT / 11am CT / 12pm ET

Register for: SIGGS Webinar: Assessment of Learning with Badges

Presenter info: Dr. David Gibson, Chief Scientist for Pragmatic Solutions, received his Ed.D. from the University of Vermont in Leadership and Policy Studies in 1999, and works as an educational researcher, professor, learning scientist and innovator at local, state and national levels of education. Dr. Gibson’s research focuses on complex systems analysis and modeling of education, games and simulations in teacher education, web applications and the future of learning, and the use of technology to personalize education via cognitive modeling, design and implementation. His articles and books on games and simulations in learning follow from his role as creator of simSchool, a classroom flight simulator for preparing educators, and eFolio an online performance-based assessment system.

Contact info: Albert Ritzhaupt, aritzhaupt@gmail.com