Book

Free shipping in the US & Canada!

Common Core Standards: Promoting 21st Century Reasoning Practices

Product code: EVTIPCC12
Topics: Professional learning, Leadership, Curriculum, Assessment, Standards
Length: approximately 60 minutes
This Product is Not Available.
$0.00 Member price
$0.00 Nonmember price

This webinar is being sponsored by Autodesk and is free to all, but registration is required in order to receive the login instructions and the follow up archive.

This webinar shows on Wednesday, May 22 at 4:00 Pacific/5:00 Mountain/6:00 Central/7:00 Eastern. For other times, please visit World Clock

The new U.S. Common Core State Standards and Next Generation Science Standards are built upon a foundation of “reasoning practices” that focus on preparing all students for college and careers by connecting academic content with real world applications.

 

For many teachers, making these connections will demand significant changes in how they teach and how students participate in their own learning.  International interest in these new standards underscores the need for tools that can support these changes. In response to this need, this presentation offers teachers the opportunity to discover how they can leverage the ISTE NETS for Students approved Autodesk Digital STEAM projects and the design thinking process to build the connections between disciplinary knowledge in Science, Technology Engineering, Arts and Math with authentic scenarios.

 

Audience: Teachers, Administrators, Tech Coord.
Audience Level 1 : Beginner

 

Authors/Contributors:
  • Name: Brian Donnelly
  • Bio: Brian Donnelly, Ph.D., Technology Teacher and Director, DJUSD Green Schools STEM program. The district has established a reputation for academic excellence that has placed Davis schools among the top in the region. DJUSD recognizes the critical need to develop innovative practices to close the achievement gap. To this end, the district engages in collaborations with regional education partners. Chief among these are the University of California, Davis (UCD) and the Los Rios Community College district. Working in tandem with the UCD Schools of Education and Engineering, the district is currently participating in the development of innovative STEM education curricula and assessment models. Through a combination of funding from the district, Title 1, and a grant from the CA Post-Secondary Education Commission, a pilot middle school program has been introduced that provides project-based learning (PBL) math-education support for at-risk students. DJUSD offers a variety of additional support and enrichment programs including AVID and the Bridge program, which engage UC Davis students as mentors for middle school students.
  •