Making IT Happen Award

The Making IT Happen award honors outstanding educators and leaders who demonstrate extraordinary commitment, leadership, courage and persistence in improving digital learning opportunities for students. Since its inception in 1995 more than 600 educators from around the world have received the award.

The spirit of the Making IT Happen award supports our vision of a world in which all learners thrive, achieve and contribute.

Award recipients are educators who:

  • Apply available technology now.
  • Move forward and don't look back.
  • See students as real people.
  • Teach through relationships, inspiring, encouraging and nurturing.
  • Recognize that further change is necessary, but understand that it is a process.
  • Realize that teacher empowerment is the key element to technology integration.
  • Expect success.
  • Motivate through awareness and access to information.


ISTE Making IT Happening Participants
Making IT Happen Award winners at the
ISTE 2017 Awards Celebration Luncheon.


ISTE and its affiliates may present Making IT Happen awards at their annual conferences. The awarding organization chooses its winner(s) and ISTE supplies the award package, including an embroidered Making IT Happen jacket, a pin, a certificate, a one-year Basic ISTE membership and promotional materials.

Request an award package.

For additional information or questions about this outstanding program, please contact us.

2017 Making IT Happen Award Winners Presented by ISTE

Sarah Thomas

Paige Johnson

Katrina Stevens

Joseph South

Helen Crompton

Dallas Dance

Anne Mirtschin

Current Making IT Happen Award Winners

View the entire archive of winners

Sheila Adams
Jeff Bailey
Alice Barr
Craig Bates
Susan Bell
Eric Butash
Éric Caron
Colleen Charles
Paula Christophersen
Denise Crawford
Helen Crompton
S. Dallas Dance, Ph.D.
Ellen Driscoll
Bruce Fuda
Paige Johnson
Jason Juneau
Melissa Kempski
Anne Knight
Steven Lamb
Teresa Lansford
Katherine Lester
Melissa Mano
Anne Mirtschin
Patricia Morgan
Penny Potts
Dan Ryder
Jim Saj
Ross Smith
Mike Souden
Joseph South
Katrina Stevens
Janis Streich
Sarah Thomas
Brady Venables